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AUTHORITY 

In accordance with A.C.A. 25-17-307, the Board of Trustees of Arkansas Tech University 

establishes the following rules and regulations for the registration . operation. and 

parking of motor vehicles on Arkansas Tech University campuses These rules and 

regulations are binding on all members of the faculty, staff. student body and others 

utilizing the lands owned or controlled by Arkansas Tech University. Lands owned or 

controlled by Tech will henceforth be known as the CAMPUS for purposes of clarification 

in this brochure. 

Arkansas Tech Department of Public Safety officers are constituted peace officers by 

A.C.A. 25-17-305. by action of the Board of Trustees, and under the laws of this state 

possess all the authority provided by law for city police and county sheriffs to be 

exercised as required for the safety and protection of the University community. 

Enforcement of traffic regulations on the Tech campus is the responsibility of the Department 

of Public Safety. All drivers will observe and obey the orders of the Department of Public 

Safety officers wh ile such officers are engaged in the performance of their respective duties 

This includes produdng and rendering identification and hangtags requested. 

YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR COMPLYING WITH ALL RULES AND REGULATIONS 

REGISTRATION OF VEHICLES 

Registration shall be accomplished at the time of regular registration for the fall , spring 

or summer semesters at the Department of Public Safety or at locations and times 

specified. Only one hangtag may be registered per person and only one vehicle per 

person shall be parked on campus. 

Vehicles are defined as any self-propelled vehicle having two or more wheels. 

All vehicles on Tech campuses are required to register and display a cu rrent parking 

hangtag. Parameters for the operation and parking of motor vehicles may be viewed on 

the campus map 

Hangtags are valid from August 15 one yea r th rough August 15 of the next year. After 

securing a hangtag at the Department of Public Safety, charges are assessed to the 

individual's account at the Office of Student Accounts. 

Hangtags must be displayed by hanging on the rear view mirror so the number can be read 

th rough the front windshield from the outside. These hangtags can be moved from vehicle 

to vehicle. Do not tape hangtag on vehicle or lay on dash or seat. 

Lost/stolen hangtags are full price for replacement. 

Summer term hangtags will be one-half the original cost 

Hangtags are the responsibility of the purchaser and must be removed prior to sale 

or transfer of the vehicle or upon termination of employment or withdrawal from the university. 

Falsifying registration information. such as buying hangtags for another person 

in his/her name will be fined $75.00. Also. the person who allows another individual to 

purchase a hangtag for him/her will be fined $75 00. 

Charges will be assessed at the time of registration of the vehicle as follows for all 

faculty, staff and students and other non-Tech employees 

A. $30.00 for the calendar year (August 15 through August 15) 

B. $30.00 from the beginning of the second semester through August 15 

C. $15.00 for summer term 

Hangtag fees are non-refundable 

Temporary Hangtags are available at the Department of Public Safety for faculty, staff 

and students who have misplaced their hangtag These hangtags are provided at no cost 

and are va lid for a maximum of seven days 

ACCIDENTS 

All traffic accidents occurring on the campus or grounds controlled by the 

University must be reported immediately to the Department of Public Safety by 

calling on campus 479-968-0222 If you are unable to contact the number, call911 on 

campus and ask that the Tech officer on duty be dispatched to your location 

DISABILITY PARKING 

As required. a number of parking spaces have been set aside for use by handicapped 

individuals only. Each space has been marked with signs and or blue and white paint 

on the space. If these spaces are full , you may park in any color zone but not in spaces 

marked as loading zones, timed parking and reserved as long as you display your valid 

disability license plate or placard Vehicles found illegally parked in these spaces are 

subject to towing and impoundment fees 

Only individuals who have been issued. and are displaying, a disability license plate 

or placard issued by the State of Arkansas are permitted to park in spaces marked with 

blue and white stripes. Vehicles must also have valid Tech hangtag. 

License plates. decals and placards may be obta ined from the State Revenue Office at 

I 05 South Rodchester. Russellville , AR For information. call 479-968-1526. 

Transfer of a disability license or placard is a violation of the Arkansas state law 

The offender will be ticketed accordingly 

TEMPORARY DISABILITY PARKING 

Persons requesting temporary disability status for parking must be authorized by the 

Tech Health and Wellness Center located in Dean Hall and, if eligible. then obtain 

a special Temporary hangtag from the Department of Public Safety. You wi ll then be eligible 

to park in the areas marked RED or handicapped space only for the dates specified. 

SPECIAL EV ENT PARKING 

Contact the Department of Public Safety at 479-968-0222 or email at dps@atu edu 

V IS ITOR PARKING 

Visitors are always welcome on campus and may park in any non-restricted area. 

Currently enrolled students or employees are not considered visitors. Visitor 

spaces are never considered part of open parking 

Visitors. please secure a visitor's hangtag at no cost at the Department of Public Safety 

or through the office you are visiting 

Visitors with the hangtag may use any color parking area Visitors without the hangtag 

may park only in the areas marked "Visitors Only .. Visitors who park in violation may 

be issued a parking citation. 

MOTORCYCLES AND tv10TORBIKES 

Motorbikes, motor scooters. motorcycles and bicycles must be operated only 

on streets normally designated for automobile use. A hangtag must be displayed 

if parked on campus or an optional decal may be affixed to the left front fork 

APPEALS 

All appeals will be dealt with according to the rules and regulations stated in this 

booklet. All appeals must be made within three school days. Appeals made after three 

school days will not be considered 

All faculty, staff and student appeals should follow the above procedures 

Appeal forms are available at Department of Public Safety 

PARKING REGULATIONS 

All parking regulations will be enforced 7 days a week, 24 hours a day. 

The responsibility for finding a legal parking space rests with the veh1cle operator 

Lack of space is not a valid excuse for violating a parking regulation 

Standard parking/traffic regulations and definitions. as enacted in the Arkansas 

Motor Vehicle and Traffic Laws and State Highway Commission Regulations will be 

rigidly enforced on the Tech campus at all times. including legal holidays and the 

time between semesters when classes are not in session 

Violators of established Parking and Traffic Regulations may be issued a Uniform 

Traffic Ticket payable in Munidpal Court in Russellville. Arkansas, in lieu of a 

Tech citation. 

Violation notices will be affixed to the motor vehicle or presented to the driver 

Payment may be either mailed or paid in person at the Student Accounts Office 

in the Doc Bryan Building 

6. Vehicles are considered parked when left standing, stopped or unattended for any 

period of time 

It is illegal to re-use a ticket 

8 Pedestrians have the right-of-way at designated crosswa lks at all times except 

at signal-controlled intersections where pedestrians will be expected to comply 

with the signal 

9. Students. faculty and staff members are expected to be familiar with and abide by 

the regulations at all times The fact that any vehicle does not receive a violation 

notice while his/her vehicle is parked or operated in violation of any regulation 

or Jaw does not mean or imply that such a regulation or Jaw is invalid. 

10. Due to evolving changes. signage will superceed zones as marked on the map. 

II . Vehicles are assumed abandoned if left parked and stationary for a period of two 

weeks. Such vehicles will be towed at the owner's expense 

12. School buses and other large vehicles. as well as special purpose vehicles. 

are required to park in areas designated by the Department of Public Safety. 

13 You are responsible for all violations by a vehicle displaying a hangtag issued 

in your name. If you lend your car, proper operation of the vehicle is still 

your responsibility 

14 Only one type of Tech hangtag is to be displayed on a vehicle at a time. 

15 Obey regulatory signs and barricades established by the Department of Public 

Safety. 

16. Vehicles will not be operated on the Tech campus without required safety 

equipment prescribed by the vehicle code of the State of Arkansas. 

17 Vehicles parked in parallel parking spaces must be parked with the passengers· door 

to the curb with flow of traffic 

18 Loading zones around residence halls are to be utilized by students for loading/ 

unloading. A maximum of 15 minutes will be observed at all times 

19. Vehicles will be parked within designated parking boundaries and in no case 

shall they overlap into or onto roadway, crosswa lk or sidewalk. The fact that other 

vehicles are parked improperly shall not constitute an excuse for parking with any 

part of the veh icle over the line 

20 The time limit on 15 minute zones will be observed at all times 



DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
1 hllp 1/www diU edu/psafet 

The Department of Public Safety IS located on campus at 1511 North Boulder and 

" open Monday thru Thursday 7 a.m. to I a.m., Friday 7 a.m. to 4 p.m. and 

Sunday 4 p.m. to I a.m. excludmg holidays For all servtces call 479-968-0222 

or for emergencies only. on campus call 911. 

PARKING VIOLATION CHARGES 

The responstbthttes for payment of fmes mcurred for trafftc vtolattons wtll rest 

wtth the registrant In the event vehicle regtstratton has not been completed. 

,e,ponstbtlity ltes wtth the owner and/or operator of the vehiCle Persons vtolatmg 

the rules and regulations as stated whtle usmg a motor vehtcle on campus will be 

fmed under the Untverstty·s system of trafftc vtolattons hsted below 

VIOLATION NOTIFICATION LIST 

Failure to dtsplay current hangtag $35 

Failure to dtsplay hangtag properly $20 

Parkmg 10 wrong color lot/wrong letter lot $20 

4 Parkmg at yellow curb $20 

5 Park tng where prohtbtted by signs $20 

6 illegal use of. reproducing. alterations of. defacmg. 
usmg revoked hangtags or falstfymg registration information $75 

7 Unauthonzed handtcap parkmg $100 

8 Parked dtsregardtng painted lines 520 

9 Parkmg m unauthonzed zone $20 

10 Dnvmg/parkmg on grass $20 

II Double parkediblockmg $20 

12 Blocktng dnve $25 

13 Blocktng dumpster $20 

14 Loadmg zone beyond 15 mmute ttme hmlt $20 

15 Parkmg on wrong side or street $20 

16 Backed 1nto parkmg space on street $20 

17 Blocktng hre hydrant/zone $60 

18 Parked 1n VISitOr space $20 

19 Parkmg in reserved area 520 
20 Across stdewalk and/or crosswalk $20 
21 Exptred ltcense tab $20 

l2 Fatlure to dtsplay hcense plate $20 
2l Failure to stop or yteld nght of way $25 
24 Dnvmg wrong way on one-way $20 
25 U-turn $20 
26 Reckless dnvmg $50 

27 Improper Equtpment 520 
28 Speedmg $35 

29 Secunty vtolatton Jpropptng doors open. etc I $25 

30 Reusmg Cttatton $75 
3\ laywalkmg $25 
32 Excesstve Notse/Dtsorerly Conduct $25 
B Emergency Cal I Stat ton Vtolatlon 5125 
34 Other 520 
40 Warnmg so 

RESTRfCTE D PARKING A REAS 

YELLOW CURBS RESTRICTED PARKING at all times. 

FIRE ZONES As marked. 

RED No students or ineligible employees between 7 30 am. and 5 p m. Monday through 

Friday. 

BLUE/WHITE Designated disability parking zones This includes ramps as well 

as parking spaces 

SIGNS Restricted by signs as posted. 

ANY ATHLETIC OR DRILL FIELD No parking at any time These will not be posted 

Arkansas Tech University reserves the right to set aside areas as necessary for special 

events in all parking areas of the University. The University further reserves the right to 

temporarily block certain streets as necessary without notice to the public. 

TOWING AND IMPOUNDING OF VEHICLES 

The University reserves the right to immobilize. tow and/or impound any vehicle that 

is parked on University property in such a way as to constitute a serious hazard. or any 

vehicle owned by a violator having th ree or more violations in any academic year. 

The Department of Public Safety may direct an authorized commercial garage 

to carry out any towing action Violators will be responstble for paying all costs 

for removal. impounding and storage of such vehicles Vehicles may be held until all 

charges are paid 

If your vehicle is booted. you have the right to contest it at a hearing This does not 

apply to ticketings. Hearings will be conducted Monday-Friday at the Doc Bryan Student 

Services Building. beginning at 9 a.m. You must contest the boot by the next business 

day or waive all you r future rights to contest 

The boot may be removed after outstanding tickets are paid or as a ftnding of 

the hearing There is no additional fee for the placement or removal of this 

boot If you feel this boot has been placed on this vehicle erroneously or if 

you have any other questions. you may contact the Department of Public Safety 24 hours 

a day at 4 79-968-0222 

PAYMENT OF VIOLATIONS/FINES 

A person receiving notice of a parking or traffic violation should go to the student 

accounts office. Doc Bryan Student Services Center. to pay the fine placed against his/her 

account. The office is closed on Saturdays. Sundays and holidays Check the PARKING 

AND TRAFFIC REGULATIONS for a listing of all fines for violations. 

MOVING VIOLAT IONS 

Moving violations include all traffic laws as stated in the Arkansas Motor Vehicle and 

Traffic laws and State Highway Commission Regulations The official Tech parking 

citation notice placed on vehicles will be sufficient as a summons for violation 

of these rules and regulations In lieu of a University citation. the violator may be issued 

a uniform traffic ticket which will be adjudicated in Municipal Court 

Additional violations/rules are as follows: 

Speed limit on campus Is 20 mph unless otherwise posted. 

No U-turns. 

Yield the right-of-way to all pedestrians in campus crosswalks. 

HANGTAG PARKING A R EAS 

FACULTY/STAFF ONLY 
Vehicles with authorized RED hangtags may park in areas marked in red 

or in any authorized parking location on campus 

RESIDENT STUDENTS OF !ONES AND ROUSH ONLY 

Vehicles with authorized GREEN hangtags must park in areas marked 

in green on the map except during "open parking" hours 

Lots F, G, M, N, 0 Lots I and I are overflow 

RESIDENT 51 UD[NTS OF PAINUTURNER ONLY 

Vehicles with authorized LIGHT BLUE hangtags must park in areas marked 

in light blue on the map except during "open parking· hours 

Lots K, T, U and Was marked 

RESIDENT STUDENTS OF WILSON, CRITZ, AND HUGHES ONLY 

Vehicles with authorized BROWN hangtags must park in areas marked 

in brown on the map except during ·open parking" hours 

Lots FF, KK, W , West M Street, and NN as marked 

RESIDENT STUDENTS OF rWTT BROWN. NL lUCI\EI• HALl ONLY 

Vehicles with authorized ORAl IGE hangtags must park in areas marked 

in orange on the map except during "open parking" hours 

Lots CC, DO, EE, NN, Y, AND X as marked 

UNIVERSITY COMMONS APARTMENT STUDENTS ONLY 

Vehicles with authorized GRAY hangtags must park in areas marked in gray 

on the map except during "open parking" hours 

Lot I Lot 1 Is overflow 

RESIDENT STUDENTS OF CARAWAY ONLY 

Vehicles with authorized OLIVE hangtags must park in areas marked in olive 

on the map except during "open parking" hours 

LotMM 

STADIUM SUITES/BASWELL HALL 

Vehicles with authorized DARK BLUE hangtags must pa rk in dark blue 

areas marked on the map except during "open parking" hours 

Lots TT, RR, SS AND 00 as marked Lot UU Is overflow 

Vehicles with authorized hangtags must park in areas marked 

in yel low on the map except during "open parking" hours 

Lots A, B, C, D, ). K, L, R, S, Z, AA, BB, 00, UU, XX, AND E, F as marked 

VISTA PLACE/SOUTH HALL 
Vehicles with authorized BLACK AND YELLOW STRIPED hangtags must 

park in areas marked with yellow and white stripes on the map or in areas 

marked in yellow on the map except during "open parking" hours 

Lots A, B, C, D, I. K, L, R, S, Z, AA, BB, GG, 00, UU, AND E, F as 
marked 

ALL AUTHORIZED STREET PARKING WILL BE MARKED BY SIGNS 

RESIDENT HALL PARKING AREAS DO NOT APPLY TO OPEN PARKING HOURS. 

LOTS 00 AND 00 ARE NOT OPEN PARKING AREAS ON HOME FOOTBALL GAME DAYS. 

MC = Motorcycle Only 

21 A traffic ticket or any other communication from a Department of Public 

Safety officer. while in the performance of his duties. is considered to be an 

official University notice Failure to respond will make the recipient subject 

to disciplinary action 

22 If a hangtag is not visible to the officer while he is issuing a otation. the citation 

will be for no curren t hangtag. If. in the course of issuing a citation. the officer 

discovers the hangtag. he has the discretion to downgrade that ticket to improper 

display only. 

23 Windshields, side wings. stde or rear windows may not be obstructed with any sign , 

sunshield, sun visor. poster or other transparent material other than a certificate 

or sticker required by state law or campus regulations. This will include writing on 

vehicle windows with shoe polish. 

24 No boats. campers or trailers allowed to park on campus 

GENERAL INFORMATION 

Open parking hours will be declared from 5 p m to no a m daily and from 5 p m 
on Friday through 7.30 am on Monday School holidays are considered as "open 
parking" days Residence hall parking areas are not open parking areas. 

Operating a motor vehicle in any manner which may create a disturbance 

on campus may be considered a traffic violation Thts includes excessive use 

(determined by ctty ordinance or officer's discretion) of boom box. stereo. horn. 

illegal exhaust systems. squealing of tires or placing pedestrians or other drivers 

in a hazardous situation 

All personnel, including visitors. are expected to adhere to all campus and state 

regulations regarding safety procedures 

All residence hall students who own or operate registered vehicles must use the 

pa rki ng areas assigned to that residence hall. Residence hall parking lots are 

color-coded 

Arkansas Tech University cannot and does not assume the obligation of 

providing parking spaces for all vehicles at all times. 

Arkansas Tech University does not assume responsibility for the care and 

protection of any vehicle or its contents while said vehicle is operated or parked 

on the campus or lands controlled by the University 

6 Vehicles that do not qualify for registration or "approved as safe" by the State of 

Arkansas are not permitted on the campus at any time Disabled and abandoned 

vehicles will be turned over to the State Police for disposal according to law 

7. Mechanical work other than minor repairs such as replacement of vehicle battery 

or flat tires will not be permitted on the Tech campus 

Arkansas Tech University reserves the right to restrict or revoke the use of an 

automobi le on campus to anyone if the use of that vehicle is thought to be 

detrimental to the academic achievement of any student or if the person has 

abused the privilege of operating said vehicle on or off campus 

It shall be the responsibility of any driver of a disabled vehicle (i e dead battery. 

out of gas. keys locked in car. etc 1 to immediately notify the Department of 

Public Safety of the problem and location of the disabled vehicle. Failu re to 

make notification may result in the vehicle's being either towed or given a ticket 

Abandoned vehicles shall be towed at the owner's expense 

I 0 Flagrant dtsregard of campus parking and traffic regulations will result in the vehicle 

being towed to storage and parking privileges on campus revoked. Towing and 

storage charges wi ll be assessed prior to the release of the vehicle to the owner 



ARKANSAS TECH UNIVERSITY- OZARK CAMPUS 

TRAFFIC/PARKING INFORMATION 

Traffic Regulations: 

By authority of the Board of Trustees and in accordance with Act 328 of 1967, Arkansas Tech University requires 

all members of the faculty, staff, student body and classified personnel to register motor vehicles which they 

own or operate on the Ozark Campus or on lands controlled by the University. All registrants shall abide by all 

traffic and parking regulations. 

Registration of vehicles shall be accomplished at the time of regular registration for the fall, spring or summer 

semesters at the Office of Student Accounts. All faculty, staff and students must present a current Arkansas 

Tech University ID card before a parking permit will be issued. All vehicles on campus are required to register 

and display a current parking permit. Vehicles are defined as any self-propelled vehicle having two or more 

wheels. 

Parking permits are valid from August 151
h one year through August 151

h of the next year. After securing a 

parking permit at the Office of Student Accounts, charges are assessed to the student's account. Parking 

permits must be displayed by hanging on the rear view mirror so the number can be read through the front 

windshield from the outside; they may not be taped on the vehicle or laid on the dash or seat. These permits 

can be moved from vehicle to vehicle. Parking permits are the responsibility ofthe purchaser and must be 

removed prior to sale or transfer of the vehicle, upon termination of employment, or withdrawal from the 

school. If a hangtag is lost or stolen it will be the responsibility of the student or school employee to purchase a 

replacement permit. There is no refund for permit cost. Parking violations may result in a fine being charged to 

a student's account. 

The Arkansas Tech University-Ozark Campus will enforce the following violations on campus property and will 

collect fines as stated in the list below. 

Violation 

Warning 

Failure to display current hang tag 

Unauthorized Handicapped Parking 

Parking Where Prohibited by Signs 

Parking in and Unauthorized Zone 

Blocking 

Failure to Stop or Yield Right of Way 

Reckless/Careless Driving 

Speeding 

$00.00 

$20.00 

$100.00 

$20.00 

$20.00 

$20.00 

$25.00 

$50.00 

$35.00 

FILED 

Arka n sas 
Secretary of State 



Moving Violations 

Reckless Driving- A.C.A. § 27-50-308 states that any person who drives a vehicle in such a manner as to indicate 

a wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property is guilty of reckless driving. 

Careless Driving- A.C.A. § 27-51-104 states that it is unlawful to operate any vehicle in a careless manner as to 

evidence a failure to keep a proper lookout for other traffic, vehicular or otherwise, or in a manner as to 

evidence a failure to maintain proper control. Careless driving may also include, but is not limited to the 

following: 

-Driving onto or across private property to avoid intersections, signs, or other traffic control devices. 

-Driving in such a manner, or at such speed, as to cause skidding, spinning, or sliding of tires or vehicle. 

-Driving too close to, or colliding with, parked or stopped vehicles, fixtures, persons, or objects adjacent to road . 

-Driving of vehicle with any part or object extended, in such fashion as to endanger persons or property. 

-To operate a vehicle wherein or whereon passengers are located in such manner to be a danger to themselves. 

-To operate a vehicle in any manner, when the driver is inattentive, and such inattention is not reasonable and 

prudent in maintaining vehicular control. 

Campus Parking: 

All vehicles should have a parking permit, which can be obtained from the Office of Student Accounts. The cost 

of the Parking Permit is $15.00. Arkansas Tech University Department of Public Safety will enforce violations that 

occur on campus property. Local law enforcement agencies may also enforce violations of state law that occur 

on campus property. 

Parking for the Handicapped: 

Any vehicle found to be parked in an area designated for exclusive use of disabled persons (as defined in Section 

75, 266-22 of Act 772} shall be subject to impoundment by the appropriate law enforcement agency according 

to Section 12 of Act 772, and the owner will be subject to a fine not less than $25 or not more than $100 for 

each offense plus applicable towing, impounding, and related fees. 

Handicapped Parking Decals: 

Handicapped parking decals may be obtained at the Arkansas State Revenue Office. Decals may be used by 

persons who are temporarily or permanently disabled, and are good for the duration of the disability, and may 

be used anywhere in the State of Arkansas. A statement from a physician is necessary to obtain the decal. 


